Leviticus 2 Bible Study


Leviticus 2 Outline


– The rite for making the meat offering (Leviticus 2:1-10)

– The meat offering is to be made without yeast and seasoned (Leviticus 2:11-13)

– The rite for using a meat offering as firstfruit offering (Leviticus 2:14-16)


Leviticus 2 Summary


Leviticus 2 contains information about the procedure in making the meat offering. The meat offering must consists of fine flour, mixed with oil and incense. Aaron’s sons, the priests, will take a handful of fine flour, oil, and incense and burn it on the altar, as the most holy part of offerings, offered to God. The meat offering will produce an aroma pleasing to God.


For an oven baked cake or wafer grain offering, it is to be made without yeast. Oil should be poured into the cakes and oil should be spread on the wafer. A meat offering prepared on the griddle should be mixed with fine flour and without yeast. This type of meat offering should be crumbled and oil poured on it. For the meat offering prepared on a pan, it is to be made of fine flour and oil. The priest will take out a portion of the meat offering and burn them on the altar so that it produces a pleasing aroma to God. The rest of the meat offering, which is not burned on the altar, belong to Aaron and his sons.


The Israelites are to offer meat offering without yeast. The yeast can be offered as the firstfruits offering. All the meat offering is to be seasoned with salt. If grain offering is used as a firstfruit offering, the Israelites are to offer crushed heads of new grains that are roasted on the fire, pour and incense on it and burn it on the altar as an offering to God.



Leviticus 2 Bible Study


1. The anointing of the Holy Spirit

In every meat offering, oil is poured into it. The oil represents the grace of the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is our helper and he helps us in all things. The Holy Spirit can give you strength to overcome your weaknesses. He can speak to you and guide you through all your problems. He endows gifts on each of the believers. There are many different types of spiritual gifts. The spiritual gifts are used to edify the believers and build up the church into unity. In Romans 12:6-8, God gives us different gifts. If you have a gift of prophesying, you should use it in accordance to your faith. If you have a gift of serving, you should serve. If you have a gift of teaching, you should teach. If you have a gift of encouraging, you should encourage. If you have a gift of giving, you should give generously. If you have a gift of leadership, you can govern diligently. If you have a gift of showing mercy, you should do it cheerfully. In 1 Corinthians 12:4-11, there are various kinds of spiritual gifts including message of wisdom, message of knowledge, faith, gifts of healing, miraculous powers, prophecy, distinguishing between spirits, and speaking in different kinds of tongues.


2. Jesus Christ intercedes and pray for us everyday

The incense mixed in with the meat offering represents the intercession of Jesus Christ for the believers every day. Jesus Christ is the mediator between men and God (1 Timothy 2:5).


3. Give your offering willingly with a cheerful heart

A handful of the meat offering is burnt on the altar to produce a pleasing aroma but the rest belong to Aaron’s sons, the priests. This reminds us of giving our offering with a willing and cheerful heart out of our love for God (2 Corinthians 9:7). In 2 Corinthians 8:12, for if there is a willing mind, it is accepted according to that a man have, not according to the amount.


4. Jesus Christ offered himself up as a blameless sacrifice

The meat offering is made without leaven, same as the unleavened bread which the Israelites eat on the night Moses led them out of Egypt. It also represents Jesus Christ as a blameless sacrifice offered up on the cross for our sacrifice because yeast has to do with wickedness. Jesus often talk about the leaven of the Pharisees, which is their hypocrisy. The Pharisees were well known for being a hypocrite, not doing what they preach. Jesus Christ never sin during his lifetime so that he can be the perfect sacrifice that is without blemish for our sins (1 Peter 1:19). Jesus Christ died on the cross for our sins so that we can be forgiven and reconcile to God.


5. Love God with all your heart, soul and mind

The fire on the altar represents setting a straight heart and loving God sincerely with our heart. Whatever we do must be for glorifying God (1 Corinthians 10:31; Colossians 3:17). Loving God with all our heart, soul and mind is the most important commandment in the Bible (Matthew 22:37-38).